Red Velvet Brownies


I have seen this recipe floating around several blogs for some time now. I have been delaying making these since they didn’t say “Summer” to me. Now that the air is cooler, I thought it would be great to give these a try. I printed this recipe off so long ago, I am unsure where I originally found it. Google “Red Velvet Brownies” and you can take your pick at who should get credit for these.

Typically in our household chocolate, peanut butter or lemon has dominated our top favorites. These little brownies however took our hearts. They are dense with a slight chocolate undertone. My Taste Tester described them as “tasty”.

I typically do not care for cream cheese frosting but I loved it on these. I made my own frosting recipe up combining butter, cream cheese, vanilla, milk and powdered sugar until I achieved the flavor I liked. It was light, creamy with a slight cream cheese flavor. Overall it was great.

I would make these again, they would be great for a potluck or school function. I think these would please chocolate lovers and non-chocolate lovers (those people exist?) alike. You can double the recipe easily to make a larger pan for large groups if needed. For the 2 of us the smaller size was perfect.

I rate these a 8

Red Velvet Brownies

3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 oz red food coloring (this is one small bottle or a scant 2 tbsp)
2 tsp pure vanilla extract, divided
1/2 cup (1 stick)  butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease an 8″x8″ baking pan.

In a small bowl, slowly stir together the cocoa powder, food coloring, and 1 tsp vanilla into a thick paste until no lumps of cocoa remain. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition, then stir in the remaining 1 tsp of vanilla.  With the mixer off, add in the cocoa mixture, then turn the mixer to medium and beat the two mixtures together until they are one uniform color.  Slowly add in the flour and salt and mix on medium-low speed, just until combined.  Do not overmix.

Remove the bowl from the mixer and stir up the batter with a rubber spatula once or twice just to ensure all of the flour has incorporated from the sides of the bowl and there isn’t anything stuck on the bottom of the bowl.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center of the brownies.

Allow brownies to completely cool in the pan on a baking rack, about 45-60 minutes.  Frost with favorite frosting

6 thoughts on “Red Velvet Brownies

    • I really just added until it tasted good. 🙂
      I started with 1/2 stick of butter and 4oz cream cheese. I whipped those together. I added about 1 cup of powdered sugar at a time and about a tablespoon of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla. I added small bits more of cream cheese (about 6 oz total) and small amounts of powdered sugar until the consistency and taste was what I was looking for.
      Sorry i didn’t take better notes during that process. If i do it again, I will pay closer attention.

  1. I have made Red Velvet Cake but never a brownie. I usually like my brownies more on the cake side. I suppose I could achieve that by adding some baking powder and maybe one more egg. What do you think? I am going to try it and let you know. I too will be using the cream cheese icing. I like your version of it. It looks lighter and fluffier.

Leave a comment