Tender Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is a recipe I worked on a very long time ago before I began blogging. My Taste Tester and I were in the mood for some chocolate chip cookies to enjoy while watching a Saturday afternoon football game. After going through several of my recipes I decided to give this one a go as I couldn’t remember how they had turned out when I had made them before.

The secret ingredient in these cookies is the cornstarch. I began playing around using cornstarch after my family enjoyed these cookies but I hated the artificial vanilla flavor they had from the pudding. The reason those cookies are soft is due in part to the cornstarch in the pudding mix. I decided to cut out the pudding mix and use straight up cornstarch.

The results were very good! These cookies have a tender crumb. Chewy, but not in an underbaked or too cakey sort  of way some chewy cookies can be. The crumb is light and tender and the cookies stayed that way for at least 3 days in a sealed container. I found myself commenting how tender they still were days later. My Taste Tester agreed though ate most of his warm from the oven (and by most I mean 8).

If you are looking for a tender, chewy chocolate chip cookie, give these a try. I must say, the nuts really add something to these but feel free to omit them if you wish.

I rate these an 8.5

Tender Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 cups flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1-2 cups chocolate chips
1 cup nuts
Preheat oven to 350.

Line baking pan with parchment paper.
Cream butter and sugars with a mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until combined. Slowly add the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Mix just until combined. 
Add chips and nuts. 
Drop by spoonfulls on baking sheet. Bake about 8-12 minutes until just golden. Do not overbake. Cool on rack or baking sheet. 

Store covered and sealed.

3 thoughts on “Tender Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

